Skjelbred, Bjorn Bolstad - The Bee Madrigals

Artikelnummer: 979-0-2612-3853-3

Kategorie: Chor 4- und mehrstimmig

inkl. 5% USt. , zzgl. Versand

sofort verfügbar

Lieferzeit: 2 - 3 Werktage


Komponist: Skjelbred, Bjørn Bolstad
ISMN: 979-0-2612-3853-3
Besetzung: SSMSTBarB
geheftet, 53 Seiten
Verlag: Cantando Musikkforlag AS

The Bee Madrigals is a set of 6 madrigals composed for 6 part á capella, which can be performed in sequence or individually.
In sequence they tell an abstract story about the strange phenomenon called Colony Collapse Disorder, with the bees going astray from their hives or suffering a massive death: a phenomenon the scientists after many years of research can´t figure out.
As of today, there are (at least) three different theories on why this happens: the first theory claims that the use of a certain type of pesticides in modern agriculture containing the chemicals called nicotinoids, are stored in the plants and from there are transported into the bees causing disorientation and death. The second theory claims that a certain type of mites are causing the problem, and the third is called ”the green desert”, which is an image of how fields and flower areas are organized, with very long stretches of fields with only small and scattered flower areas in between. It could also be a combination of the three. In addition to the scientific theories there is a more spiritual theory that focuses on ”nature´s revenge” on modern man´s destruction of nature.

The 6 madrigals approach this phenomenon from different angles, from the call of nature (”The Warning”), through the shamanic vision from within the bee hive (”I was no Alien”) and the hectic discussion in an online commentary on the web after a documentary on the subject (”It adds up/The blog”) and the final ”Still in Silence” which reflects on the future possibility of a silent nature after all the insects have been extinguished.

The Bee Madrigals were commissioned by Ossavy & Kolbenstvedt for Nordic Voices, as a part of the stage production ”Bios”, partly inspired by Rachel Carson´s environmental classic ”The Silent Spring” from the 1960s.


  • The Warning
  • Spring Without Voices
  • I was no Alien
  • It adds Up!/The Blog
  • Colony collapse
  • Still In Silence